HACA Main Office

The Housing Authority of the City of Annapolis (HACA) was founded in 1937 to provide affordable housing in the City of Annapolis for families who lacked the means to purchase or rent housing at market prices. HACA's mission is to achieve excellence by providing housing, and self-sufficiency opportunities, and by promoting customer satisfaction to enhance the quality of life for low, very-low, and moderate-income residents.

HACA is an independent agency chartered by the state of Maryland, funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development under the direction of a Board of Commissioners who are appointed by the Mayor of the City of Annapolis.

The 2013 Board of Commissioners who have been appointed by The Honorable Joshua C. Cohen, Mayor of the City of Annapolis are: Carl O. Snowden, Chairman; Cynthia Abney-Carter, Vice Chair; Richard Callahan, Treasurer; Jeffrey Henderson, Phyliss Gibbs, Deborah Johnson, and Elizamae Robinson.

Mr. Vincent O. Leggett is the Executive Director and Secretary to the Board of Commissioners. HACA has a current staff of about 70 employees. HACA currently owns and manages 790 family units which, house approximately 2500 residents.